Error message

Deprecated function: The each() function is deprecated. This message will be suppressed on further calls in _menu_load_objects() (line 579 of /home/cityofblythega/public_html/_drupal/includes/

About Our City

Brent Weir Mayor
City of Blythe
294 Church Street Blythe, GA 30805
Phone: 706-592-6255
Fax: 706-592-0511

On behalf of the Blythe City Council, as Mayor I would like to welcome you to our quaint city, "The City of Blythe — Georgia's Best Kept Secret". We are a small, relaxed city with all the big city amenities within reasonable distance.

Our city has much to offer:

  • One of Richmond County's best Elementary Schools.
  • A Fire Department that is second to none.
  • Our own local Police Department as well as support from Augusta/Richmond County Sheriffs Department.
  • Blythe Post Office
  • Mack's Convenience Store
  • Lek's Unique Knick Knacks Plus
  • Numerous Churches are located within our Community. 

We are pleased that you and your family have chosen Blythe as your new home. Enclosed I am providing contact information for the City of Blythe, various agencies, and a brief history of the City. Information provided is our most current available and may change without notice. 

If we can be of any assistance to you, please feel free to call or stop by the City Hall. The City Hall is located at 294 Church Street (on the corner of Highway 88 and Church Street behind the Fire Department). Office hours are Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, and Friday from 8:00 a.m. until 4:00 p.m., closed for lunch from 12:00 noon to 1:00 p.m. unless otherwise posted; Wednesday from 8:00 a.m. until 12:00 noon. 

The Blythe City Council meets the second Monday of each month at 6:00 p.m. unless otherwise posted. All meetings are opened to the public. The Council consists of Mayor Brent Weir, Mayor Pro Tem Troy Harwell, Council members Jim Adkins, Cindy Parham and Daisy Price. Terms of office for our Mayor and Council members are four (4) years. The City Planning Commission meets the first Tuesday of each month at 6:00 p.m. unless otherwise posted. The Planning Commission presently consists of Chairperson Noel Cartagen, Vice Chair Linda Kight, Celso Pagon, Melody Carter, and Tyre Brannen. All building permits for homes, placement of manufactured homes, accessory structures, carports, storage buildings, decks, pools, driveways, etc. must be presented to the Planning Commission prior to construction or placement. Please contact the City Hall at 706-592-6255 with any questions. 

We strive to keep Blythe well maintained and attractive for our citizens and visitors. Neat and clean properties not only keep our property values high but they contribute to community pride.